Amazing Stories sampler: Senior Reba West, graduating May 2013 with her degree in English

2013-03-18 by

The Amazing Stories booth was at the University Center in February, and we gathered the stories of a number of students who came by the booth to chat.

Reba West is friendly and curious, and came right up to tell her story. As both a full time student and a student worker, she’s learned a few tricks about how to balance academics and a job, and how to approach each day with a positive attitude.

This is one in a series of interviews with amazing students at UAA.
Watch for more.

Download MP3 (6:33min, 3MB)

For More Information:

UAA Office of Advancement
Details on UAA's brand and 'amazing stories' campaign
Green & Gold News
'Amazing Stories' campaign

Second Annual Innovate Awards Presentation podcast, recorded December 14, 2012

2013-03-18 by

Congratulations to the second round of winners in the UAA INNOVATE Awards. The 2013 winners were announced at a special event December 14, 2012, and recipients are hard at work on their projects now.

The purpose of the INNOVATE Awards is to inspire faculty research, entrepreneurship and creative activity that will lead to publication in a peer review journal or a creative event, external research funding or intellectual property. The INNOVATE Awards were created in 2011 by Dr. Helena Wisniewski, Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies, to stimulate new research and intellectual property.

Four winners from 2012 were invited to speak. Their remarks can be heard at the following points in the podcast:

>> Dr. Khrystyne Duddleston, Biological Sciences, arctic ground squirrels host-gut-microbiome interactions (8:29)
>> Dr. John Lund, Electrical Engineering, ultra-long lifespan wireless sensors (13:37)
>> Dr. Colin McGill, Chemistry, Alaska bog blueberries (21:00)
>> Dr. Don Rearden, College Preparatory & Developmental Studies, a whaling novel (27:40)

This event was recorded on Dec. 14, 2012.

Download MP3 (66:12min, 30MB)

For More Information:

UAA Office of Research
Website, listing 2013 and 2012 winners