Top teams in Debating Alaska’s Fiscal Future competition to face off at UAA April 1, 2017

March 24, 2017

The top eight teams in the Debating Alaska’s Fiscal Future contest will compete Saturday, April 1, at the University of Alaska Anchorage for a chance to win part of $10,000 in total scholarship prizes. Each two-student team submitted a 10-minute video advocating for first the pro, and then the con side of a topic related to Alaska’s fiscal future. Topics debated included capping the PFD, implementation of new taxes and further cuts to the state’s budget.

The public voted online in large numbers for these students, casting more than 3,900 votes for the 22 teams who submitted videos to the contest. Additionally, a panel of judges from the Seawolf Debate program selected teams based on quality of argument, supporting materials and presentation.

The top eight teams advancing to the finals include:

  • Ricky York and Jacob Hersh, Service High School
  • Piper Cooper and Madyson Traudt, Ketchikan High School
  • Krista Stapleford and Liam Colombus, South Anchorage High School
  • Janpal Lachappelle and Foster Birnbaum, West Anchorage High School
  • Brynn Morse and Anna Jesperson, East Anchorage High School
  • Abby Partnow and Louis Bastille, West Valley High School
  • Jode Sparks and Addison Downing, Soldotna High School
  • Wyatt Skala and Charles Panigeo, South Anchorage High School

Each team will compete in a debate tournament on April 1 at UAA, culminating in a final round of competition at 7 p.m. in the Fine Arts Building, Room 150 that is open to the public. More information about the tournament and how to attend is available at the Seawolf Debate Facebook page and

University of Alaska Anchorage - University Advancement
3211 Providence Dr. Suite 236 - Anchorage, AK 99508
UA is an AA/EO employer and educational institution and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual: