UAA celebrates 10th anniversary of Rasmuson Chair of Economics

November 27, 2013
Rasmuson Chairs and Nankai Visitors

The four former and current UAA Rasmuson Chairs gathered in Anchorage the week of Nov. 18 to celebrate the position’s 10th anniversary. L–R: Vernon Smith ’03–’06, Jim Murphy ’06–’11, Robert Kurzban ’12–’13 and Todd Cherry ’13–’14.

This academic year UAA celebrates the 10th anniversary of the Rasmuson Chair of Economics, which was created through a generous endowment by the late Elmer Rasmuson, an Alaska banker, entrepreneur and philanthropist. Since its inception, four scholars have held the chair position, including Vernon Smith ’03–’06, Jim Murphy ’06–’11, Robert Kurzban ’12–’13 and Todd Cherry ’13–’14.

Read the Hometown U story published in the Anchorage Daily News on Sunday, Nov. 24, for more on Nobel laureate Vernon Smith’s visit to UAA last week.

Check out a conversation with UAA’s current Rasmuson Chair, Todd Cherry, who hails from Appalachian State University in North Carolina.

Experimental Economics Game

Former Rasmuson Chair and Nobel laureate Vernon Smith visits a Steller Secondary classroom on Nov. 21 to play a game with students to demonstrate experimental economics.


University of Alaska Anchorage - University Advancement
3211 Providence Dr. Suite 236 - Anchorage, AK 99508
UA is an AA/EO employer and educational institution and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual: