Chancellor honors excellence among faculty and staff

September 23, 2013

Chancellor CaseOn Friday, Sept. 20, Chancellor Tom Case and the university’s vice chancellor’s took the time to honor the hard work and dedication of employees at Faculty & Staff Convocation with promotion and tenure awards, Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence and longevity awards, which included four long-time Seawolves who have dedicated more than 35 years to UAA–Mary Parker, Marcia Trudgen, Alan Boraas and Robert McCoy.

Deans and directors from UAA’s colleges took the stage to herald the promotion and tenure of faculty members.

And Chancellor Case, together with Bob McDonnell, announced the nominees and winners of the 2013 Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in nine categories. (Winners are noted with * in bold.)

Excellence in Diversity

Gabriel Garcia, Assistant Professor of Public Health
Andre Thorn, Director, Multicultural Center
Robert Boeckmann, Associate Professor of Psychology
Theresa Lyons, Director, New Student Orientation
* Zeynep Kilic, Assistant Professor of Sociology

Excellence in Sustainability

Penny Kimball, Campus Bookstore
Summer Sauve, Facilities & Campus Services
* Patricia Baum, Facilities & Campus Services
* Herminia Din, Art Education
Sharon LaRue, Division of Aviation Technology

Service to Community

* Osama Abaza, School of Engineering
Deborah Periman, Justice Center
Judith Owens-Manley, Center for Community Engagement and Learning and Honors College
* Leo Medal, AHAINA
Ira Rosnel, Human Services

Service to Students

Bruno Kappes, Psychology
Thomas Hendrix, School of Nursing
Zac Clark, Student Life and Leadership
* Patricia Fagan, Languages
Janine Elgamal, Multicultural Center
Katherine Brandenburg, Psychology
Tuyet Tran, Justice Center
* Joanne von Pronay, Advising and Testing
Anita Bradbury, Student Life and Leadership
Jim Seitz, College of Education
Dana Sample, Student Union

Staff Excellence

Andre Thorn, Multicultural Center
Barbara Armstrong, Justice Center
Steve Hinds, Human Resource Service
* Kimberly Swiantek, Governance
Robin Wahto, School of Allied Health
Roxana Petrilla, College of Business & Public Policy
Nick Dighiera, Safety Officer
Nate Mills-Price, Electrician
Meghan Owens, Mathematical Sciences
Rebecca VanLoon, Business Services
Lisa Amaziah, School of Nursing
Craig Mead, Student Affairs

Excellence in Research/Creative Activity

Joshua Swift, Psychology
Brad Myrstol, Justice Center
James Murphy, Economics
* Jim Pantaleone, Physics & Astronomy

Excellence in Teaching

David Weaver, Guidance
Theresa Bunsen, Special Education
Megan Gobeille, Mathematical Sciences
Laura Koenig, Music
Julia O’Leary, Psychology
Alison Mall, Secondary Education
Joy Mapaye, Journalism & Public Communications
* Joshua Swift, Psychology
* Margan Grover, Anthropology

 University Small Team Collaboration (teams of 25 or fewer)

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Student Appreciation Luncheon Program Committee
Indigenous Values Discussion Series Team
Facilities Maintenance and Operations Work Management Team
Black History Month Committe
Green Fee Board
Mat-Su College Assessment Task Force
Master of Public Health Program
Multicultural Center
Advising and Testing Center
Criteria Champions of the Alaska Small Business Development Center
* Alaska Cares: Dental Days at UAA
* Student Union & Commuter Student Services Late Nights Program
Alaska LEND Without Walls Team
QuickSearch Implementation Team
Human Resources Technicians and Payroll Staff

University Large Team Collaboration (teams of more than 25)

* National Coalition Building Institute
UAA Brand Launch Street Team
Standing Scholarship Committee


University of Alaska Anchorage - University Advancement
3211 Providence Dr. Suite 236 - Anchorage, AK 99508
UA is an AA/EO employer and educational institution and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual: